©2017 Association des Familles Poitras inc.

IP Address
Unique Hits



















armoiries
Coat of Arms

This is the first letter of the name POITRAS. By stylizing in the form of Gothic lettering, it is given a more refined and important value.

The lion appears early on to mark the starting point of the first ancestor of POITRAS, a Town in Brittany which has a coat of arms with a lion with the leopard like tail.

Starting from Brittany, our ancestor came to settle in Québec. Now  today the city of Québec has this ship on its coat of arms. We can see the arrival of our first ancestor in Québec.

Our first ancestor was a master carpenter, the  compass and handsaw represent well the tools used to perform his work. In addition, these objects fit nicely with the Gothic "P".

Divided in four it makes it easier to show the four elements that characterize the POITRAS Family. The number 4 is very symbolic. It represents the four cardinal points, the four seasons, the four phases of the moon, the four arms of the cross, the four letters of the name of God in French (Dieu).
  • The (blue) is the symbol of peace, silence and rest, as well as crystal and diamond. The Egyptians considered this color as the shield of truth. For the POITRAS, it is for the peaceful and honest character of our ancestors. It emphasized their loyalty and faith in God and the homeland.
  • The (red) reminds us of fire and blood. It is the principle of life and symbolizes the impulsive force, youth and that of health. It is also used to symbolize courage, the strength of spirit and work. It stands for love and devotion. It applies well to these early ancestors who had the courage and faith to come and build a family, a country and a civilization.
  • The (gold) is the brightness of the light. All recognize that it is the symbol of spiritual and intellectual values. These are the ones that guided and inspired the first POITRAS and their example inspires those of the twenty-first century.
JOIE ET FRATERNITÉ. This is a beautiful motto, like the ancients, asks all members of the Association des Families POITRAS to radiate joy and brotherhood among themselves and to those around them.

©2017 Association des Familles Poitras inc.

IP Address
visites uniques


















armoiries
Armoiries

Il s'agit de la première lettre du nom POITRAS. En le stylisant selon une des formes du lettrage gothique, on lui donne une valeur plus raffinée et importante.

Ce lion apparaît dès le début pour marquer le point de départ du premier ancêtre des POITRAS, soit une Commune de la Bretagne qui porte parmi ses armoiries un lion avec la queue léopardée.

Partant de Bretagne, l'ancêtre est venu s'établir à Québec. Or, Québec porte parmi ses armoiries un vaisseau habillé et voguant sur une mer. Nous fixons ainsi l'arrivée de ce premier ancêtre à Québec.

Notre premier ancêtre était maître-menuisier, le compas et l'égoïne représentent bien les outils utilisés pour réaliser ses chefs-d'œuvre. De plus, ces objets s'harmonisent très bien avec le "P" gothique.

La division en quatre parties du champ de l'écu permet plus facilement d'y inscrire les quatre éléments qui caractérisent les Familles POITRAS. Le nombre 4 est très symbolique. Il représente les 4 points cardinaux, les 4 saisons, les 4 phases de la lune, les 4 bras de la croix, les 4 lettres du nom de Dieu.

  • Le (bleu azur) est le symbole de paix, de silence et de repos, ainsi que le cristal et le diamant. Les Égyptiens considéraient cette couleur comme le bouclier de la vérité. Chez les POITRAS, elle représente le caractère pacifique et franc des ancêtres. Elle souligne leur fidélité et leur foi en Dieu et la patrie.
  • Le (rouge de gueules) rappelle le feu et le sang. Il est le principe de vie et symbolise la force impulsive, la jeunesse et celle de la santé. On l'emploie aussi pour symboliser le courage, l'esprit de force et de travail. Il est synonyme de charité et de dévouement. Il s'applique fort bien à ces premiers ancêtres qui ont eu le courage et la foi pour venir y bâtir une famille, un pays et une civilisation.
  • Le (métal or) est l'éclat de la lumière. Tous reconnaissent qu'il est le symbole des valeurs spirituelles et intellectuelles. Ce sont celles qui ont guidé et inspiré les premiers POITRAS et qui doivent à leur exemple, inspirer ceux du vingt et unième siècle.

JOIE ET FRATERNITÉ. C'est une très belle devise qui, à l'exemple des anciens, demande à tous les membres de l'Association des Familles POITRAS de rayonner la joie et la fraternité chez eux et ceux qui les entourent.